Trusting Chalene Johnson

It takes a lot for me to trust people on social media. One woman who has earned my trust over the years is Chalene Johnson. Chalene is a fitness expert that truly practices what she preaches and has transformed people lives. So just how did Chalene Johnson earn my hard-to-get trust?

531672_167268066760123_1409816113_nChalene is not only an individual but also a corporation. She has created the workout systems TurboJam, TurboKick, TurboFire, and Hip Hop Hustle (all created under Beachbody). She has sold over four million workout videos. Her reputation and authority as a fitness expert speaks for itself but her social media activity reinforces it.

I follow Chalene on Twitter and Instagram. Whether it’s exercising, eating habits, social media usage, how-to videos, or family advice her posts are all about helping people. Helpfulness is one of the essential elements in trust on social media and her posts exude this. While training for a marathon last year I developed “runner’s knee.” This injury has prevented me from doing some of my favorite exercises (i.e. running, lunges, squats, etc.). It’s very frustrating for me to go to the gym and be tied to the elliptical machine. The other day Chalene posted a short Instagram video about how to do certain exercises like lunges and squats that have a low impact on hurt knees. After watching this video I felt so excited! She showed me how to do a revised version of an exercise I love and miss. I can’t wait to try it!

 

Chalene's Bad Knees how-to video. Can't wait to try it!

Chalene’s Bad Knees how-to video. Can’t wait to try it!

Chalene also takes the time to respond to people’s comments and motivate them. At age 45 she has a rock hard body and she loves showing it off. I admire her for this. She works very hard for her body and follows a system she has developed to a T. These images serve as a reminder for people that if they follow the system they can have similar results. She practices what she preaches and she has the body to back it up. I am half her age and  wish I had half of her self-confidence.

As you can see Chalene practices the trust formula Steve Rayson has developed. She is very present on social media and she is passionate about her message. She has earned my trust by having a distinguished reputation in the fitness community and by continually posting helpful content, motivating me, and making each post personal. I love following her and love what she stands for!

Screen shot 2014-05-28 at 7.39.41 PM

4 thoughts on “Trusting Chalene Johnson

  1. Hi Alexis,
    I follow Chalene as well and she is incredible! I really do admire her workouts and while I have not bought any of her Beachbody programs, I have learned a lot of other at home exercises from her Instagram page. She really is incredible and works hard for that amazing body! I have noticed though that she doesn’t really ever mention any struggles that she is going through. On one hand it makes for a very uplifting page and very inspirational, but for me personally, I need someone who struggles since it makes me feel like I can connect with them more. Great person though and great post!

    • Hi Amanda,
      I’m glad someone else can relate to Chalene too! I think it’s a very good insight you pointed out that she never really posts about struggles…I think it would be nice to see some of this content from her! We are all human and it would add a nice touch to her posts. Thanks for the feedback!

  2. Alexis,

    Great post!

    There are so many “fitness” personalities out there now it’s hard to sort through and find one who actually lives their advice. The fact that Chalene does not just say she does this, but illustrates it is a great way to earn and keep her fans/followers’ trust.

    I, too, have knee issues and it can be tough to work out through the pain and discomfort so I’m glad to see some alternatives!

Leave a Comment

