Meet Alexis

My love affair with sports began at an early age. My dad brainwashed me with Gator football trivia when I was little and thought it was funny to have me recite Danny Wuerffel and Steve Spurrier stats. I have two younger brothers and am the only girl…playing sports and talking sports was/is really the only way I can get the men of my family to hold a substantial conversation with me.

Needless to say, I attended UF for undergrad earning a degree in Telecommunications with an outside area of concentration in sports management. While at UF I worked at WRUF AM 850 (now ESPN Gainesville) where I updated listeners every half hour of the latest sports news. I also worked at WUFT-TV as a reporter and incorporated sports into my stories as much as possible. It was important for us to update the stations websites on a regular basis but it wasn’t until after I graduated that I truly saw how influential the Internet and social media are in the reporting world.

My dad and I at the Highlands County Gator Club Meeting '93.

My dad and I at the Highlands County Gator Club Meeting ’93.

Upon graduation in 2011 I moved to the Tampa area and began freelancing with local sports stations (Fox Sports Florida and ESPNU.com) covering high school football recruiting. I began learning the ropes of recruiting and quickly gathered that 17 year olds are obsessed with social media and have no filter. It is common for a top recruit to have 3,000+ Twitter followers. Reporters wait on baited breath to see what the recruit’s next tweet will hint at all in hopes of breaking the next big recruiting story.

I learned so much by following them recruits on Twitter and was able to ask them more than just “What schools have you visited lately?”  because of the information they shared. The more I tweeted about top recruits the more their followers started following me. Being involved in this industry showed me just how reliant both the consumer and the source are on social media.

Interviewing Defensive End Jordan Sherit at the IMG camp last summer. He commited to UF. Look for him at Gator games this fall!

Interviewing Defensive End Jordan Sherit at the IMG camp last summer. He commited to UF. Look for him at Gator games this fall!

In November 2012 I started my current position at HSN (Home Shopping Network) as an Assistant Producer. About the time I started is when we rolled out our new website and recently we re-launched our brand to “HSN, its fun here”. Our target market at HSN is women 40-65. We have started working on incorporating social media into our programming but as of now it is really only utilized during special programming. Seeing this and knowing the potential this multichannel television retailer has really inspired me to look into pursuing this Master’s program.

I have grown to love working at HSN and can see myself having a long and prosperous career here. Ultimately I want to utilize social media and help HSN reach maximum viewership and profit. I want to take this company to the next level by engaging our existing customers and getting the attention of people in my age group (20-30). I recently read “search is second only to browsing in malls as the most influential activity in encouraging purchase” (Young, Antony. Brand Media Strategy. New York City: Palgrave Macmillan. 2010). At HSN we carry many brands you see at the malls and we have a fairly strong social media following but there is so much more we can be doing to engage our customer and stay ahead of our competition.  I can’t wait to see how this program will shed light on how I can help HSN, or any other company I work for in the future achieve this goal!

Here’s how you can connect with me:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

LinkedIn

Pinterest

Google+

Leave a Comment

